Sea Life – old and new

I have an affinity for sea life, although I grew up far from the ocean. But as a child, I studied the rocks around me and in my part of the world, they are teeming with evidence of ancient water creatures. One in particular. The crinoid.

crinoid  Messing

Looks like a plant but is an animal. Was once thought to be extinct but can be found in the deep ocean…..until recently, hidden from view.

Due to their structure, crinoids are usually found as disarticulated bits and pieces.

crinoid fossil bits

crinoid bits photo source : about.com geology

However, sometimes an exceptional preservation yields a complete animal.

complete crinoid fossil

fossil crinoid photo source : zarko palaeo gly bris ac uk

A comparison of the fossil record with videos of existing crinoids would be an asset to any programming about the natural world.